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WCS Mission Statement




Nevada Statutes & Regulatio

Nevada Revised Statutes Nevada Administrative Code

D) (NAC) F

Chapter 616 A-D Chapter 616 A-D
Nevada Industrial Insurance Act Nevada Industrial Insurance Act
& &
Chapter 617 Chapter 617
Nevada Occupational Diseases Act ‘ Nevada Occupational Diseases Act

http://dir.nv.gov/WCS/Nevada_Law/



Provide Assistance
— Answer questions, investigate

complaints
Role of Provide Information
DIR/WCS - — Education/Training
Impartia"ty - All training provided free of charge

» Check website for dates, registration

— Provide workers’ comp process
information



Regulate Compliance
Role of — Audits/Investigations
DIR/WCS - — Administrative Actions
Impartiality » Notices of Correction
* Fines
* Penalties




WCS Organization

Primary Compliance Units

—Payers —Insurers, TPAs,
SIE, Associations

—Health Care Providers
—Employers

4[ Audit Unit

e Audits insurers/TPAs/SIEs/Associations
¢ Investigates complaints

4[ Medical Unit (MU)

e Investigates medical complaints
e Makes payment determinations (appeals)
e Revise and publishes NV Medical Fee Schedule
e Processes D-35 Forms/PPD requests

e Manages Treating & Rating Physician Panels

e Coverage verification and compliance (C-4
Forms)

4[ Employer Compliance Unit (ECU) }

e Employer audits
e Coverage Investigations




WCS Organization

{ Research & Analysis (R&A)

e Research and Analysis

e Other Units: Benefit :Xfr:r::glgWorkers’ Compensation
Penalty, Subsequent « Reporting S
Injury, Uninsured e

Employers’ Claim Account {
Other Units

________/

e Benefit Penalty
e Subsequent Injury
e Uninsured Employers’ Claims Account




The Beginning ...

.
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We Begin with the Cs _;

C-1 Form “Notice of Injury or Occupational DiSease

pear. >
IRl

°* NRS 616C.015
® Incident Report — written notice of injury/iliness to
®* Completed by injured employee (IE) within 7 days from 
* Given to employer
® Signed by both employer and injured employee




We Begin with the O s

C-4 Form/Employee’s Claim for Compensatlon/
Initial Treatment e

®* NRS 616C.040 and NAC 616C.080

* Completed and signed by IE and physician (MD/DO
chiropractor (DC)

® Sent to employer and correct insurer/TPA within 3 day's'"'f :

® Insurer/TPA has 30 days to accept or deny claim



We Begin with the Cs

C-3 Form “Employer’s Report of Industrial Injury or
Occupational Disease”

® NRS 616C.045

* Completed by employer and filed with insurer/TPA within
working days from receipt of C-4 Form 3

o &

® Must be accompanied by statement of wages if IE expecte\
be off work 5 days or more

® Copy to injured employee



Communication

Workers’ Compensation Community includes:
* Injured Employees/representatives
® Insurers/TPAs/SIEs/SIAs/MCQOs
* Employers
® Health Care Providers
® Attorneys
* DIR/WCS

¢ Without appropriate communication, we all faill




Communication

7 With appropriate communication, we all succeed!

Appropriate communication requires:
® Timely and complete response

® Respectful of others’ perspectives
® Professional and courteous

® Cannot be legislated




Written notice of claim acceptance must:

® Be provided to IE, legal
representative or dependents

® (@) Written notice of acceptance
of the claim;

® (b) A copy of Form D-52,

g Alternative Choice of Physician or
Compliance Keys Chiropractor; and

- NAC 616C.091 * Copy to treating physician or
chiropractor (C-4 Form)

® Include either:

"Web address to obtain list of
HCPs

“Written notice IE may request
list of HCPs



Compliance Keys
- NAC 616C.091

Written determinations must include:

® Claim number

* Employer

® Insurer/TPA

® Date of injury

® Date of determination
® Appeal rights

® Addresses of the Dept of
Administration, Hearings Division
in Carson City and Las Vegas



Claims - Medical Only

®* No or minimal time lost from work (less
than 5 days within 20 days)

® Medical services $800 or less
° No lifetime reopening rights

o



Claims - Lost Time

NRS 616C.475
Off work 5 days - consecutive or within 20 days

Entitled to compensation: 66 2/3 average
monthly wage

Forms

D-5 Wage Calculation Form for Claims Agent’s
Use

D-6 Injured Employee’s Request for
Compensation

D-7 Explanation of Wage Calculation

D-8 Employer’s Wage Verification Form (must
be completed by employer)



Claims - Lost Time

Types of Wage Replacement
TTD (Temporary Total Disability)

Must be paid within 14 working days;
regularly thereafter

TPD (Temporary Partial Disability)
IE working at least part time

Must be paid every 14 days after
receipt of wage verification
(paycheck)

PTD (Permanent Total Disability)
Must be paid monthly




Appeal Rights

® Required on every written determination

* Different appeal rights for different purposes
» Most decisions IE may appeal
- Billing decisions — only HCP may appeal

® Usually to Dept of Administration except medical billing
disputes

« WCS medical billing appeals authority
- Medical billing appeals mm=) Medical Unit
® Always copy in legal representative, if any




e Hearing Officer (NRS 616C.315)
e Appeals Officer (NRS 616C.345)
Appeals

Litigation

e District Court

e Nevada Supreme Court — may
remand to Court of Appeals




Nevada Attorney for Injured
Workers (NAIW)

2 locations:

e Las Vegas (702) 486-2830
e Carson City (775) 684-7555

NAIW may represent an
IE without fee before the May be appointed by
NRS 616A.435-460 Appeals Officer, District Appeals Officer if
Court, Court of Appeals requested by IE
or Supreme Court




Claim Closure

NRS 616C.235

Notice of Closure must be mailed to IE and
legal representative, if applicable

Notice must describe the effects of closing
the claim and time limit for IE to appeal

Insurer/TPA must provide Request for
Hearing Form (NRS 616C.315)






More than
before about

the C-4...

‘




C-4 to Correct Insurer/

NRS 616C.040
C-4 Submission
by Medical
Provider
3 Working Days

=

Transit
Time
2-37 Days

¢

Insurer/TPA

Accept or deny claim
30 DAYS after receipt

27



C-4 Form Highlights




® Top half completed by IE

® Includes release of information (Privacy Act,
HIPAA excludes workers’ compensation,)

® Bottom half completed by treating
C-4 Form physician/chiropractor

Highlights ® Only MDs, DOs or DC may sign C-4 Form

® Watch for notations referring to medical
record for additional information



When is Workers’ Compensation
Insurance Required?

If an employer has an employee, workers’
compensation policy is ALWAYS required
(NRS 616B.633)!




Employer Compliance Unit (ECU)

Who is an employer?

> Unless excluded by statute, “...Every
person, firm, voluntary association and
private corporation, including any public
service corporation, which has in service
any person under a contract of hire” needs
coverage (NRS 616A.230)




Employer Compliance Unit (ECU)

®* Responsible for ensuring employers comply with
mandatory coverage provisions

® Conducts employer site visits; employers must
provide evidence of coverage (NRS 616A.495)

* If an employer fails to provide/maintain workers'
comp coverage, an order to cease business

operations may be issued (NRS 616D.110) E




Uninsured employer investigations
Cancellation/lapse investigations
National Council on Compensation Insurance
(NCCI) provides monthly cancellation list
Affirmation of Compliance (D-25 Forms)
Referrals or complaints
Random site visits

[CANCELEDTS
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Worker
Misclassification




Worker Misclassification

NRS 616B.603 pertains to Independent Enterprises
and should be considered to determine if you could be
deemed an employer under this provision.

In order to not be deemed the employer under the
“independent enterprise exemption,” 1) You must not
be “in the same trade, business, profession or
occupation” as the person or business with whom you
contract, and 2) The person or business with whom you
contract must be an independent enterprise.
Otherwise, workers’' compensation coverage is
required.

Incorrectly deeming employees as independent
contractors can lead to serious consequences.




Workers” Compensation Myths and Realtles

Myth: Family and/or part-time employees do not require coverage
Reality: WC coverage is required

Myth: The subs that I hire should have their own coverage, so I won‘t worry about
workers’ compensation insurance.

Reality: If Jou are a licensed contractor, you should know that you may be
determined to be the employer of independent contractors, subcontractors and their
employees for purposes of providing workers’ compensation insurance coverage.

o= If an employee of a subcontractor or an independent contractor has a work-
related injury and the employer has not secured industrial insurance, the principal

?ontractor will be responsible for the actual cost of the claim, plus administrative
ees.




Uninsured Employer Consaquencas

* Employers who fail to secure and maintain a workers’
compensation policy for their employees will be
charged with an administrative fine up to $15,000.

* Employers will pay a premium penalty for the time the
employer was uninsured.

* Employers will be held financially responsible for all
costs relating to an uninsured claim.

* Possible criminal prosecution from the Attorney
General’s Office

\_




Welcome to
Subsequent

Injury

* Purpose: To encourage employers to hire or
retain those workers who have a condition
that results in a permanent impairment and

reimburse the employer for injuries that are

sustained subsequently during that
employment.




How do I qualify? How do I submit for reimbursement?
NRS 616B.557, .578 and .587

* All these require there be a combined effect between the pre-

existing permanent physical impairment and the subsequent
injury that, substantially increased, the costs of the subsequent
injury due to the pre-existing permanent physical impairment;

The pre-existing permanent physical impairment must qualify
for at least 6% WPI if rated under the AMA Guides as adopted
by statute; and

®* Employer must have written documentation of knowledge of

the pre-existing permanent physical impairment at the time the
person is hired or, once the employer acquires knowledge, they
must retain the person in employment. Knowledge and

retention must occur prior to the date of the subsequent injury.



The Board (Self-Insured Employers or Associations of
Self-Insured Public or Private Employers) has 120 days
after receipt of the request to make a determination
regarding reimbursement.

Who decides if I

get If the claim is for a Private Carrier, the Administrator has
reimbursement? 120 days to make a determination regarding the request.

Notice of a possible claim under these sections was
repealed on October 1, 2007. However, if the claim has a

date of injury prior to October 30, 2005, notice of the
possible claim is still required.




What if an
employee
knowingly
misrepresents
their physical
condition?
NRS
616B.560,
.581 and .590

There must be proof that the employee knowingly made
a false representation related to their physical condition
when they were hired and that this false statement
formed the basis of their employment.

There must be a causal connection between the false
representation and the subsequent disability.

These statutes require notice be submitted no later than
60 days after the date of the subsequent injury or the

date the employer learns of the false representation,
whichever is later.




NAC 616B.760 to 616B.769 (Private Carriers)
NAC 616B.770 to 616B.7714 (SIE)
NAC 616B.773 to 616B.779 (SIA)

® These regulations govern how claims should be
submitted, the hearing process for the Boards and

Private Carriers and timelines for the Administrator to
review requests.

® Please note, the regulations for both Boards were
recently amended on February 27, 2020. They have
not been codified by the Legislative Counsel Bureau
as of this presentation.



Got Questions?

Subsequent Injury Coordinator
Vanessa Skrinjaric

702-486-9098
VSkrinjaric@dir.nv.gov



mailto:VSkrinjaric@dir.nv.gov
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Medical -
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Essentials T



Use the Resources Availa_

Medical Treatment Guidelines

®* ACOEM Guidelines only

® Available online by Reed Group
® Separates conditions by acute/chronic
® Includes drug formulary

\—



NAC 616C.129, NAC 616C.143
Required for all services with estimated billed
amount of $200 or more

Prior Required for all compound medications — see
Authorization page 5 Nevada Medical Fee Schedule (NMFS)
All out of state services (NAC 616C.143)

e Written prior authorization requirements include
notification payment per NMFS




Reimbursement:
Insurer/TPA Responsibilities

May be sent to an out
of state scanning
center only, otherwise
mailed to insurer/TPA
address in NV

No down coding =
reimbursing a higher
paying code shown on
the bill at the rate of a

lower paying code
y,

Pay medical bills
accurately and timely —
within 45 calendar days
of receipt

Bills must be date
stamped when
received

/ /




Nevada Medical Fee Schedule (NMFS)

®* NRS 616C.260

® Sets maximum reimbursement for services
® Updated annually (February 1)

Reimbursement - ® Access at http://dir.nv.gov/WCS/home/
NMFS

® Includes limited dental fee schedule
®* EOB/EOR requirements
® General Information on pages 8-9


http://dir.nv.gov/WCS/home/

Catastrophic Injuries

® Defined in NRS 616A.077
® Duties of insurer/TPA NRS 616C.700-720

- Assign qualified claims adjuster, nurse, voc
rehab counselor

- Life care plan required within 120 days of
“stable” determination

* Personal meeting monthly with IE/family






What is a

PPD?




Three ways PPD raters assigned

*Rotating panel
eMutual agreements
eCourt ordered

All PPD rating requests must be made by
submitting a completed

D-35 Form to WCS/Medical Unit

D-35 Forms submitted to WCS must be
completed accurately to be processed

D-35 Forms cannot be processed until
claim indexed (D-38 Form)




Keys to
PPD

Requests

D-35 Forms available on WCS
website

Claims must already be indexed in
CARDS

Mutual agreements require copy
of signed agreement and letter of
representation, if attorney
involved

If not, D-35 returned; when
indexed, write TK# of (D-38) at
top of D-35 Form, resubmit to
WCS

Submit all required documentation
together with new D-35 (update
request date on all resubmitted D-
35s forms)




List all treating/consulting
physicians/chiropractors

Code body parts as specifically as
possible

e Use “"Comments” section to clarify
non-specific body parts

e Be accurate - raters use body parts
list to identify body parts to be rated

e Must be sent to rater with medical
records

e No D-35 no rating




PPDs - Restrictions

® Chiropractors limited to rate nheuromusc
Injuries
* Injuries above the neck mmm) MD/DO

® All brain injuries (including concussions) ‘
neurologist/neurosurgeon

eletal

* Severe nerve damage mmm)
neurologist/neurosurgeon



PPDs and PTSD

Post Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD)

* Only mental health disorder eligible for impairment rating
® Limited to raters who have received additional training to rate PTSD

® Eligible raters noted on Rating Panel of Physicians/Chiropractors
(http://dir.nv.gov/WCS/home/)

® Contact DIR/WCS Medical Unit if questions
* If both PTSD and physical injuries, usually one rating by PTSD rater



http://dir.nv.gov/WCS/home/

Vocational Rehabilitation/ |

®* NRS 616C.530, NRS 616C.550

® Goal — keep IEs working while receiving me
treatment, minimizes disruption of life

®* Work with employers to provide light duty as early
as possible

®* Undocumented IEs not eligible: NV Supreme Court
(Tarango v SIIS)
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Vocational Rehabilitation Prioriti
NRS 616C.530

0 /Return to pre-accident position

Return to pre-accident employer I

Position with another employer utilizing
existing skills

. 4

Kvocation

@ /Provide training while working in another )

Provide formal training/education in } =
_another vocation
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Claims and Regulatory Data System

right!!!

Nevada Workers’ Compensation web portal
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Claims and Regulatory Data System

®* WCS Internal System
®* WCS manages investigations, complaints, audits, fines, penalties

®* WCS maintains records of insurers, TPAs, medical providers,
employers

®* WCS creates the initial record for each insurer/TPA with basic
licensing info received from DOI

°* External Web Portal
® Tnsurers and TPAs interact with WCS

® Insurers and TPAs maintain contacts, claims office and TPA
relationship info, submit claims data (claims indexing) and run
reports

® Mandatory




7
Insurer / TPA Information Form
Claims Indexing (D-38) Form Submission
e Create D-38
e Update D-38

Claims History




« Controlled by WCS

« Up to 2 Account

EXTE RN AL Administrators per
Insurer or TPA
USERS

e Added by WCS via
Account Admin
Designation Form

e Controlled by
Account
Administrators

e Invited/Added by
Account
Administrators

e Provided permissions
by Account
Administrators



EXTERNAL USERS

e Must register online and activate your account:
e Go to https://CARDS.nv.gov

e Click the link in the activation email

* Be “invited” or added by an Account Administrator (or by WCS if you are an Account
Administrator)

* Be given “permissions” to access CARDS functions by an Account Administrator


https://cards.nv.gov/

USER REGISTRATION
CARDS .- worvere compansaion sociion

Home

cAHDs Nevada Workers® Compensation Section Hello, Ruth Testt  Log Out

Home My Account

To access this website you are required to be associated with Nevada Insurer or Third Party Administrator (TPA). You are not currently associated with an Insurer or TPA. Please contact the Insurer
or TPA Account Administrator. If you are the Account Administrator, contact the Workers Compensation Section, Research & Analysis Unit at 702-486-3080.

Home | Contact Us Privacy Policy Terms and Conditions

Copyright €201% State of Mevada - All Rights Ressrved

Password Password Requirements

! Must be at least 8 characters long
! Contain cne upper case letter
! Contain cne number

Confirm
password

Cancel




Insurer Account
Administrators Control

Individual User Access and
Permissions

“Linked” TPA Access —
Global vs. Individual

TPA Account
Administrators Control

Only Individual User
Access and Permissions

User access



e Insurers:
o Insurer Information Form
o Claims Indexing (D-38) Form Submission
»Create D-38
»Update D-38
o Claims History
o Reports
o User Access (Account Administrators Only)
e TPAs:
o TPA Information Form
o User Access (Account Administrators Only)



INSURER / INFORMATION FORM

Insurer and TPA Info Forms are required to be
completed on the CARDS portal

Insurers and TPAs maintain contact/location
information

IMPORTANT: Insurers “link” their related TPA(S)



D-38 (claims indexing)

Reporting Triggers
® Initial Report:
® Within 30 days of acceptance or denial

® Update Reports:
® Claim type changes (Medical Only to Lost

Time)
® Closure/Reopening

* Benefit Type Changes (TTD to PPD, TTD to
Vocational Rehabilitation, etc.)

® Corrections or Updates (Body Parts, Employer
info, etc.)




cARDs NMevada Workers’ Compensation Section Hello, Kristine Garcia! Log C

Home My Account

Claim Submissions

Date of
Ticket# = Status = Status Date « Submitted By = Claim#=< SSN (Last4) = Injury = Insurer
filter filter filter filter filter filter filter filter
TK-0186-361 Pending 3/20/2019 1:19 PM krissi.garcia@' Boulevard
Insurance
TK-0015-160 Approved 4/19/2018 1:57 PM Byauss@ 1111111111111 99399 1/1/1800 Boulevard
Insurance
TK-0007-593 Rejected 5/4/2017 5:28 PM Byauss@! Boulevard
Insurance

Showing 1 to 3 of 3 entries !

Filing History
Ticket# & Submission Type & Insurer/TPA & Filing Date » Filed By &
filter filter filter filter filter
TK-0167-419 RAU - Insurer Information Form Boulevard Insurance 1/23/2019 10:25 AM Ruth Ryan

RAU - Claim History Form Boulevard Insurance 4/19/2017 10:23 AM Brian Yauss
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WELCOME TO WORKERS' COMPENSATION What's Hot!

© Hearings / Workshops / Meetings

© Current Newsletter g
© Training

© Important Changes

Claims and Regulatory Data System

© Join our Mailing List

© WCS Treating Panel
Application/Instructions & Key Info s

© =NEW" PTD & Survivors' Banefits
COLAs Information - 1/14/21

<{CI|CI( here to Iogln Or reglster:}} © 2021 Mileage Reimbursement Rate

Change g
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© FY21 Maximum Compensation -
Effective 71172020

© New Actuarial Annuity Table
Adopted - Effective 7/1/2020 4

© CARDS Web Portal Updates -
Septembear 2020 ¢

© CARDS Web Portal Updatas - July
2020,

© Division of Insurance WC FAQs

© Forms and Worksheets

© WCS Contacts

© Questions? - Pleass Use WCSHelp
© Public Records Policy
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NEED HELP? CONTACT US!

NEED HELP WITH CARDS?

Download the External User Manual: CARDS WEB PORTAL USER MANUAL

Direct questions as follows:

CARDS related send to CARDS@dir.nv.gov (login, password, general system issues)

D-38/CLAIMS INDEXING related send to indexing@dir.nv.gov (claims indexing guidance and questions)
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CARDS - cards@dir.nv.gov
CARDS portal

CLAIMS INDEXING - indexing@dir.nv.qov
claims indexing

RESEARCH & ANALYSIS — WCSEDUTNG@dir.nv.gov =
training, annual Workers’ Comp Educational Confere

RESEARCH & ANALYSIS - WCSRA@dir.nv.gov
data calls, reporting

WCS HELP - WCSHelp@dir.nv.gov
Questions related to all other issues



mailto:cards@dir.nv.gov
mailto:indexing@dir.nv.gov
mailto:WCSEDUTNG@dir.nv.gov
mailto:WCSRA@dir.nv.gov
mailto:WCSHelp@business.nv.gov

WCS Contacts

LAS VEGAS ?
Main (702) 486-9080 Research and Analysis (702) 486-9080
Fax (702) 486-8712 Education klowry@dir.nv.gov
Medical Unit (702) 486-9080 Subsequent Injury (702) 486-9098
Fax (702) 486-8713
CARSON CITY
C-4s/Proof of Coverage (POC) (702) 486-9080
Main (775) 624-7270
D-35 Forms medunit@dir.nv.gov Fax (775) 684-6305
Medical Unit (775) 684-7270

Employer Compliance Unit (702) 486-9080

Employer Compliance Unit

Fax (702) 486-9174 (775) 684-7270
Audit Unit (702) 486-9080 Fax (775) 687-3073
Fax (702) 486-8712

Audit Unit (775) 684-7270



mailto:medunit@business.nv.gov
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